Goodbye Snowy and Wild

This week started out badly with the loss of two of our chickens. A raccoon pulled Snowy and Wild through the cage and made a terrible mess of our little baby birds.

I am not made for this. The loss of Sara’s bees and the loss of our little chicks makes me incredibly sad. I am too much of a softy. And I am not a farmer. I am not accustomed to the burst of life and noise and then the empty quiet. I felt sick with the awareness of the fragility of life.

Judging by the looks of the lurking raccoon I chased up a tree yesterday, I think she is a new mama trying to provide for her kits. I get it. She is merely doing her job. But I can’t stand my role in keeping chickens captive and leaving them as sitting victims. They are too small to freely roam outside their cage, and I feel  guilty that they are in such a restricted environment. After the attack, I felt all week like a failed mother who left my little chicks in an unsafe home.

I am much more comfortable with the world of vegetables and earth. I much prefer to grow vegetables and fruits. And after cleaning up the mess, I felt a deeper connection to the pull of reality that happens when we come face-to-face with our food sources. If we were all responsible for butchering our own meals, would we consume as much meat as we do?

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Snowy and Wild

  1. I’m so sorry this happened, Melinda! I hope you can keep the raccoons at bay. It’s all part of the learning process I suppose.

    Like

  2. Thanks Alorie. I am getting lulled back into a feeling of safety now that it seems our raccoon-proofing worked…and I am looking forward to having bigger, sturdier chickens that can roam more safely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

