I can’t wait for you to grow up!

photo 2(1)

It amazes me every time how tiny seeds turn into plants which sustain us, with so little effort. My lettuce quattro babies turned into toddlers, and will be ready to eat in just a few weeks of adolescence.

The Rock Farm Community Garden on Tolo road is a place for the vegetable enthusiast without growing space, such as myself. Every year I take a picture of my (almost) bare 2ox10 feet slot to compare it with the jungle madness at the height of growing season. Come summer, I will be feeding seven people from this strip of land, and still have surplus to go to the Helpline House. And what do I have going, you might ask? Well, we plan on July in Europe this year, so my current crop is heavy on early greens – spinach, mustards and lettuce – with the exception of my beloved cauliflower (fingers crossed to be done before we leave). There are also some quick white turnips and sugar snap peas to munch on. The first round of these cool loving crops will be replaced with heat loving ones before we go. And of course few rows of slow growing beets, onions, leeks and potatoes are in – can’t be without those!

photo 1(1)

3 thoughts on “I can’t wait for you to grow up!

  1. Yay! So great to see your springtime garden. You’re right, it’s beautiful and amazing to watch the transformation from seed to life-sustaining food. I’m excited to follow you as the jungle comes to life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

